Week 13: Memorial Day

Dear Family and Friends,

Happy Memorial Day! I’m so grateful for all of the men and woman who have and are still fighting for our country! This Saturday is transfer calls. Again! I can’t believe how fast it has flown by. I’ve been out for 3 months today! How crazy is that? I’m not sure if I’m staying or not. I can’t decide what my guess is. Sister Goodman thinks I am staying and she’s leaving but I’m not sure. Sister Goodman’s hand has been hurting a lot from her accident and she has an appointment in Tulsa next Monday, two days after transfer calls so we don’t know what’s going to happen. In her interview with President Shumway he said that he felt pretty strongly about having her in Ava though, so I’m not sure. I’m just scared I’m going to train. I feel like I have no idea what I’m doing still, but it is better than when I first came. So we’re going to Tulsa next week for Sister Goodman’s hand appointment. Tulsa is about 4 hours away so if I don’t email next week you’ll know why. Don’t panic! haha It will just be an extra long email the next week. I’ll try to send a quick email just to say where I’m being transferred to if I get the time.
So I haven’t wished anyone Happy Birthday since I’ve been out here! So I want to catch up on those! Happy Birthday Nephi, Brandon, Mom, Ezra, Benson, Pierce, Jessica, Adri, Lauryn, Elijah and Melinda! I will be a lot better at mentioning birthdays in my letters! I love you all and hope you had great birthdays!
Crazy Ava story time. Warning this story might not be the best for kids. So we met a guy the first day that we were here and we see him almost every week in Walmart on Preparation Days. So last week we were walking in to Walmart and a lady calls out to me, “Sister Moon! My husband talks about you all the time” I was so confused cause I had never seen her before. She was with another girl and 2 kids. I just kinda stood there for a bit until I saw who her husband was, it was the guy we had met the first day. So we talked to them for a bit and then left to do our shopping. We didn’t think much about it at the time. Then we went to dinner that night and we were talking to the members who were feeding us and they talked about a girl who used to take the missionary lessons, but then she got involved with this guy who had a wife and 2 kids. Then we realized that they were talking about the people we met at Walmart. Apparently this guy has a wife and a girlfriend and they all live in the same house!! They are basically a polygamist family in Missouri! So crazy!! It’s disgusting! That’s Ava for ya! And it’s super creepy that he’s talking about me! blegh!
This week when we taught Delbert we talked about the good and the bad in the world and where it comes from. He knew that all good comes from God and evil comes from the devil, but he was wondering where the sickness and the sad accidents that happen. It was an interesting topic and I’m not sure if we ever came to a conclusion. I’m not sure what the answer to that is. It was a sad topic to talk about. There were a bunch of examples of sad things that happen just by accident. But it all depends on our faith and if we are going to stay strong even though all these bad things are happening in the world.
So Sister Goodman has been feeling sick for the past week and it hit really hard on Tuesday so she basically slept all day. So I went and did yard work with the Weidemiers, helped Sister Weidemier with some woodwork stuff, she’s making a desk for her sewing machine out of black walnut wood that they cut down. It’s really pretty! And I also got some sewing done on a couple of skirts that needed fixed. It was kinda nice to be able to relax and get to know the members with live with better. They are so great!
So apparently there were a bunch of emergency transfers this week. Our District Leader’s companion got emergency transferred and so he got a new companion and 3 other companionships got switched around. We don’t know why but we could tell our district leader and his companion weren’t getting along super well.
We had exchanges again this week. I was with Sister Stout in Ava. It was a really good day! We had a lesson with Yalonda and it went really well. She still hasn’t come to church though. We don’t know why.
So we have been working with a family, the Simmons. They got baptized about 3 years ago i think. They have been in and out of activity in the church but they are coming back and they say it’s for the last time and they are going to stay active. Their son is turning 9 in a couple weeks and hasn’t been baptized yet, He is getting baptized on Saturday! We’re so excited for them, and his dad is going to baptize him. He hasn’t smoked for 2 months! He had just stopped smoking when we first got to Ava. We net them the first day we were here. Sister Simmons is still smoking and it’s not going very well. We hope that as she becomes more active in the church it will help her to stop. We had dinner with their family on Friday, it was so good! They always make really good food! We had a lesson with them after, their kids weren’t there, and we talked about the temple. They have been through the temple and sealed but they have never been back. Sister Simmons said that she misses the temple and really wants to go back. It was such a cool experience. She got teary eyed and everything. I’m so glad their coming back! They are such great people. I might be sending a bunch of pictures this next week of everyone if I get transferred, then you’ll get to see all the people I’ve been talking about.
Well that’s about it for this week. It’s been kinda slow cause of Sister Goodman being sick and cause of Memorial Day weekend, everyone’s out of town.
I love you all!
Hurrah for Israel!
Sister Moon
Photos:
IMG_9621

Mist in the morning
IMG_9624
The road we go running down every morning
IMG_9625 IMG_9626
Dew on the grass
IMG_9628
My first chigger bites (can’t really see them but they’re there)
IMG_9631 IMG_9630 IMG_9629
Our apartment
IMG_9634
The stream we drive by every day when we leave home
IMG_9637
Memorial day flag on a Tractor (welcome to Missouri haha)
Leave a Reply

